Dharmaraja will meet Kingswood on 17/18

  👤  2493 readers have read this article !
Published by : CT WEB 2017-03-16 09:59:43

Dharmaraja College and Kingswood College two leading schools in the Hill Capital Kandy will clash in the 111th 'Battle of the Maroons' (Kandy's oldest big match) on Friday (17) and Saturday (18) at Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium for the 'T.B. Tennakoon Memorial Shield'.

Out of the 110 encounters played so far Dharmaraja has pocketed 35 wins while Kingswood has won only 19 times and the rest have been draws.

Rajans last won in 2015 under Tharusha Weragoda at the Pallekelle Stadium and Kingswood last won in 1958 under Maurice Fernando at Randles Hill.

Clifford Ratnavibushana has the highest score for Kingswood when he made 167 in the annual encounter in 1959 played at Lakeview, Kandy.

The highest individual score in the series was recorded by Senaka Dissanayake of Dharmaraja College who made 200 in the 1983 big match played at Asgiriya, Kandy.

Dharmaraja played 16 matches and won two against Dharmasoka and Dharmapala. Deshan Gunasinghe will lead Dharmaraja and Nivantha Herath assist as deputy skipper.

Kingswood played 14 matches with one win and two losses. Avishka Chandrasiri will lead Kingswood and Vimukthi Wijesiriwardhane assist as Deputy Skipper. Skipper Avishka Chandrasiri scored more than 600 runs with a century and 4 half centuries. Ganindu Kaushalya scored more than 300 runs with 2 half centuries and has also taken 34 wickets. Yashod Kavinda scored over 350 runs with 2 half tons. Vimukthi Wijesiriwardhane has captured 66 wickets. Rangana Rathnayake has captured 28 wickets.

Skipper Deshan Gunasinghe scored more than 900 runs with a century (against Dharmasoka) and 8 half centuries, and Deputy Skipper Nivantha Herath scored over 800 runs with a century (against Ananda) and 6 half centuries. Sachintha Senanayake scored more than 500 runs with 3 half centuries. Right arm off spinner Gihan Vitharana has taken 56 wickets and is the leading wicket taker in the side. Rukmal Dissanayake has claimed 43 wickets this season. (IR)




Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More



Read More


Read More


Read More