27th Annual Soccer Encounter between St. Joseph’s and St. Peter’s Close encounter expected today

  👤  1342 readers have read this article !
Published by : CT WEB 2017-10-06 12:14:43

The 27th Josephian – Peterite annual soccer encounter for the Very Rev. Fr. Joe E. Wickramasinghe and Very Rev. Fr. Stanley Abeysekara Challenge Trophy will be played at the CR & FC ground commencing at 4:30 p.m. today.

The Junior matches which were introduced in 2009 to give the younger players a feel of the Big Match will be played this year as well. The Under-12 match for Rev. Fr. Noel Perera Challenge Shield will be played at 1:00 p.m. and the Under-14 match for Rev. Fr. Stanley Abeysekera Challenge Shield will be played at 2:00 p.m.

The traditional match between Old Joes and Old Peterites will be played at 2:45 p.m. for Rev Fr. Joe Wickramasinghe Challenge Trophy. This will be the 7th encounter with Old Joes leading this series by 5-1. The major attraction of this match is the participation of several past captains of both schools in the respective teams. This year's Old Joes team will have eight past captains – Peter Asirvatham, Jerome Ambrose, Sritharan Peeris, Mohamed Fazal, Angelo Aloysious, Vijai Weerasinghe, Sanjula Thilan Kalpa and Mayuraka Perera.

St. Joseph's will be led by third year coloursman Jason Fernando and is coached by AFC 'C' Licence holder and former National player Anura Sampath.

St. Peter's will be led by Veeriah Washikaran and is coached by Isuru Perera an old Peterite and a former National player.

While the recently revived Joe-Ben soccer encounter is one of the oldest encounters in the local soccer arena, the Joe-Pete soccer encounter is presently one of the oldest schools soccer encounters held annually without interruption.

The first Joe – Pete encounter was played in 1989 at the Sugathadasa Stadium and after a thrilling encounter the Joes won 1–0. The Joes were captained by Sudath Karunatilake and the Petes by Dinesh Perera.

The winning goal, which was also the first goal in this annual encounter, was scored by Shehan Daniel the vice captain.

St. Peter's lead the series 14–11 and have won the encounter during the last 2 years. The longest winning period for one school was from 2009 to 2013 when St. Joseph's kept hold of the trophy for 5 years. The biggest victory in the series was recorded by the champion Josephian team of 1991, led by talented playmaker Jerome Ambrose, as they thrashed the Peterites 5–1. Another interesting fact in the series is that four times the matches have ended in penalties and on all four occasions the Josephians have won, therefore, the Josephians have nerves of steel.

This year's Annual Soccer Encounter is organized by the Soccer Advisory Committee of St. Joseph's College under the chairmanship of E. Balendra Anthony. The Chief Guest will be Trevor Reckerman, Managing Director of Talisman Enterprises.

Under-18 squads:

St. Joseph's:
Jayson N. Fernando (Captain), J.T.S. Kurumbalapitiya (Vice Captain), J.A. Madushan, Nimesh Cooray, P.C. Rashmitha, H.M.P.M. Bandara, W.D.S. Bimsara, U.N. Dissanayake, Maxi L. Vais, N.M. Kodikara, N.V. George, M. Johnson, D.M.D. Dulshan, H.P.G. Thivanka, J.A.S. Renuja, L.H.H. Anjana, H.G.C. Pramantha, P.S. Sathsara, D.J.D.K. Rupasinghe, V.A.S. Perera, P.I.S. Fernando, Jonathan C. Thomas, A.S. L. de Silva, B.L.S.S. Pingho, R.J.K. Hendry.

St. Peter's:
V. Vasikaran, S. Thivanka, K. Siriwaradana, P. Ravichandran, M. Shabeer Razoonia, Miron Kelly, S. Yashmila, M.R. Ahamed, M. Fayadh, Dananjaya de Silva, Kavin Keshan, Kavish Kaushan, Daniel Magrath, Derrick Rony, A. Sanjeevan, E. Paul Raj, K. Wijesinghe, Ovindu L. Inosh, S. Ahamed, Prashan de Silva, Shevan Joel, Umar Inthikab, M. Veeriah, Krishan Arul.



Read More


Read More


Read More