Sri Lanka Rugby honours former greats

  👤  1884 readers have read this article !
Published by : CT WEB 2017-10-11 11:18:17

Sri Lanka Rugby will honour former greats and life members on Sunday 15 October at the Asia Rugby 7's Championship finals to be held at the Race Course Stadium in Colombo.

Special awards will be presented - and posthumously - to some outstanding personalities who contributed immensely to the game and country.

A host of International dignitaries will join the President and Executive Committee in honouring these outstanding gentlemen.

Japan Rugby Union Chairman Sakamoto, Super Rugby CEO Yuichi Ueno, World Rugby representative for Asia and former President Trevor Gregory, Secretary General of Asia Rugby Qais Abdulla, Vice President Asia Rugby Aga Hussain , General Manager Asia Rugby Ross Mitchell will all grace the occasion in this winner-takes-it-all final.

Life members are: Summa Navaratnam, Y.C Chang, Gamini Fernando, Hemaka Amarasooriya, Malik Samarawickrama, Dr. Indrajith Coomaraswamy, Dr. Maiya Gunasekara, Anton Benedict, Brg. Japana Jayawardane (Rtd), Michael Jayasekara, Saman Jayasinghe, Rohan Gunaratne, Grp. Cap. Nalin de Silva, Chandrishan Perera, Jagath Fernando, Mohan Balasuriya, Jayaprakash Rudra, Ajith Abeyratne, Jeff Ratnam, Angelo Wickramaratne, Hisham Abdeen, Frank Hubert, S.P. de Silva, SSP Ibrahim Hamid (Rtd), Dr. Hans Wijesuriya, Neil Wijeratne, Kumar Abeywardana, Jayatissa Ratwatte and Ken Murray.

Posthumously honoured names: Late Lt. General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, Late Jeffery de Jong, Late Didacus De Almeida, Late DIG Charles Wijewardana, Late Shafi Jainudeen, Late Tuan Seyed Mareen Bin Galiph.



Read More


Read More


Read More