CH vs Navy should be a thriller

  👤  1754 readers have read this article !
Published by : CT WEB 2017-12-15 09:50:46

By Nadeesha Chathuranga

A thrilling match is expected when CH & FC confront Navy Sports Club at the Race Course today.

CH & FC won by a big margin last weekend against Air Force Sports Club winning by 43 points to 31 at Ratmalana.

The experienced Yoshitha Rajapaksa scored two great tries and is the man in form of the CH team. He will go all out to increase his tally in this match.

Avantha Lee is a young player with great ability and will be playing as a centre. He scored a great try last week. It's good to see CH give chances to youngsters to gain experience. Prop forward Terrence Henry is doing a good job as a forward. Apart from Terrence they also have Sajith Saranga and Pulasthi Bandara, who are equally good and hungry to score. Navy is a tough team, but their loss to Kandy last week must have been a disappointing for them. They played a very good game but couldn't handle the pressure towards the end of the game and crumbled. Kasun de Silva plays a big role in scrums and is an important cog in the Navy team. He will always do his best in the scrums and will try to drive forward with the ball.

Navy Captain Dhanushka Perera has good leadership qualities and one who leads from the front. He has played a lot of games for Sri Lanka and that experience is of great value in club matches.

Winger Buddhima Piyaratne is another Sri Lanka national team member who has also played for the Sri Lanka team. He is very a fast and strong winger and tries to score whenever possible.

Both teams are evenly matched, so it is difficult to predict the outcome. The team that plays better on the day is certain to come up on top.


CH & FC: Pulasthi Bandara, S. Ranatunga, Terrence Henry, Sajith Saranga, P. Kulasuriya, M. Sarathchandra, Yoshitha Rajapaksa, Rohitha Rajapaksa (Capt.), Avishka Lee, Samuel Maduwantha, A. Herath, Avantha Lee, Lee Keegal, Ruwan Kumara, Deneth Vishva.
Navy SC: Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Kasun de Silva, L. Wishwajith, Raveen de Silva, N. Perera, Adeesha Weeratunga, Dhanushka Perera (Capt.), J. Laksara, Harshana Maduranga, Mohamed Absal, Supun Dilshan, M. Faleel, Lahiru Herath, Buddhima Piyaratne, Thilina Weerasinghe.



Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More