Super Provincial L/O Tournament Colombo and Dambulla win

  👤  3251 readers have read this article !
By 2017-04-21

Colombo and Dambulla won their matches against unbeaten Kandy and Galle in the SLC Super Provincial limited overs tournament at the NCC ground and Rangiri Dambulla Stadium yesterday.

Colombo beat points table leaders Kandy by a comprehensive 106 runs and Dambulla beat Galle by one wicket.

Kandy is leading the points table with 8 points and Colombo were second with 7 points, Dambulla third with 6 points and Galle last with 5 points.

At NCC grounds

Colombo win by 106 runs.

Electing to bat first Colombo scored 288 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs. Skipper Dinesh Chandimal scored 76 runs in 77 balls with 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. Opener Dilshan Munaweera scored 52 runs in 55 balls with 6 boundaries and 2 sixes. Openers Dilshan Munaweera and Lahiru Thirimanne (49) put on a valuable 86 runs for first wicket. Dinesh Chandimal and Wanindu Hasaranga (49) were involved in a 103 runs stand for fifth wicket.

Nuwan Pradeep took 3 wickets for 56 runs and Charith Asalanka took 2 wickets for 32 runs.

Kandy were bowled out for 182 runs in 38 overs.

Sachith Pathirana scored 46 runs in 55 balls with 6 boundaries and a six, Chamara Kapugedera scored 36 runs. Pathirana and Kapugedera put on 74 runs for sixth wicket.

Wanindu Hasaranga took 3 wickets for 37 runs and Sachithra Senanayake took 3 wickets for 39 runs.


Colombo: 288/8 in 50 overs (Dinesh Chandimal 76, Dilshan Munaweera 52, Lahiru Thirimanne 49, Wanindu Hasaranga 49, Sachithra Senanayake 19, Nuwan Pradeep 3/56, Charith Asalanka 2/32)

Kandy: 182 in 38 overs (Sachith Pathirana 46, Chamara Kapugedera 36, Sandun Weerakkody 29, Chathura Peiris 19, Wanindu Hasaranga 3/37, Sachithra Senanayake 3/39, Dilshan Munaweera 2/18)

At Dambulla

Dambulla win by one wicket

Galle won the toss and electing to bat scored 250 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs. Chathuranga de Silva scored 56 runs and Seekkuge Prasanna scored 46 runs. Chathuranga de Silva and Seekkuge Prasanna put on 90 runs for seventh wicket. Suranga Lakmal (33*) and Chamika Karunarathne (24*) put on 58 runs for ninth wicket.

Milinda Siriwardane, Dilruwan Perera and Lahiru Kumara claimed two 2 wickets each.

In reply Dambulla scored 251 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs. Harsha Cooray scored 46 runs and Milinda Siriwardane scored 39 runs. Udara Jayasundara and Ashan Priyanjana each got 33 runs.

Dambulla had three half century stands, openers Udara Jayasundara and Avishka Fernando (19) put on 58 runs, Harsha Cooray and Milinda Siriwardane added 60 runs for fifth wicket and Ashan Priyanjan and Dilruwan Perera (29) were involved in a 53 runs stand for seventh wicket.


Galle: 250/8 in 50 overs (Chathuranga de Silva 56, Seekkuge Prasanna 46, Suranga Lakmal 33 n.o., Upul Tharanga 26, Chamika Karunarathne 24 n.o., Dimuth Karunaratne 24, Milinda Siriwardena 2/18, Dilruwan Perera 2/28, Lahiru Kumara 2/52)

Dambulla: 251/9 in 50 overs (Harsha Cooray 46, Milinda Siriwardane 39, Udara Jayasundara 33, Ashan Priyanjan 33, Dilruwan Perera 29, Kusal Mendis 21, Avishka Fernando 19, Chamika Karunaratne 2/23, Chathuranga de Silva 2/36, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/47, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/47)


(Pix BY Tharaka Basnayaka)




Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More