Doluweera and Sayuni win in chess

  👤  3329 readers have read this article !
By 2017-08-19

FIDE Master (FM) Minul Sanjula Doluweera from Royal College Colombo and Women's Candidate Master (WCM) Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera from Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda emerged champion men's and women's in the National Chess Champions on Thursday.

This National Chess Championship was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka on behalf of FIDE at the Skills Centre, Colombo. Best 14 male and female contestants battled it out for supremacy in 13 rounds at the finals from August 10 to 17.

Minul Sanjula Doluweera earned 9.5 points from 13 rounds and runner up (CM) Udith Jayasundara from University of Colombo was placed second with 8.0 points. (FM) Sasith Nipun Piyumantha of Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda was third place with 7.5 points and by tie-break.

Champion Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera earned 10 points from 13 rounds Former national champion (WCM) Dasuni Hansika Mendis (Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo) earned 10.0 points. But Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera was declared the winner since she had defeated Dasuni Hansika Mendis in their individual encounter in the seventh round. Pasindi Yathra Wijesuriya (Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo) was third place with 7 points.

Men's Champion - (FM) Minul Sanjula Doluweera (Royal College Colombo) - 9.5 points

Runner – up - (CM) Udith Jayasundara (University Colombo) – 8 points

Third place - (FM) Sasith Nipun Piyumantha (Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda) - 7.5 points


Champion - Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera (Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda) - 10 points

Runner-up - (WCM) Dasuni Hansika Mendis (Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo) -10.0 points

Third place - Pasindi Yathra Wijesuriya (Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo) - 7 points.





Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More