Jaffna International Cinema Festival 2017 (JaffnaICF 2017)

  👤  3897 readers have read this article !
By 2017-09-17

The Jaffna International Cinema Festival (JaffnaICF) will be held from 15 - 20 September in Jaffna For the third consecutive year.
Jaffna ICF is a non-partisan platform to explore contemporary forms of creative expression in cinema presented by, Agenda 14 in collaboration with the Fine Arts Department of the University of Jaffna and Ceylon Theaters. Over 25 countries will participate at this years' festival by presenting nearly 100 films including feature films, documentaries and short films.

The third edition of the Jaffna International Cinema Festival was opened on September 15 at 10.00am at the Majestic Cineplex, Cargills Square, Jaffna and festival will close with an award ceremony on September 20 at 6.30pm at Majestic Cineplex. Honoring the seniors and encouraging the young generation of filmmakers, the festival will present four awards for Lifetime Achievement, Best Debut Film, Best International Short Film, Best National Short Film and Audience Award for the Most Popular Short Film.

Festival Director Anomaa Rajakaruna revealed the International Jury of Jafffna ICF 2017 and it's restrospectives. Dr. Etami Borjon (Croatia), Philip Cheah (Singapore) and Premendra Mazumder (India) will serve as the jurors in the International Critics Jury 2017. All three jurors are active members of International Federation of Film Societies and International Federation of Film Critics. This year's festival will present two retrospectives of veteran filmmakers. First one is of Agnes Varda, the only female director of the French New Wave and the second one of Dr. Dharmasena Pathiraja. Varda's retrospective will showcase 'Jacquot de Nantes' (1991), 'Vagabond' (1985), 'The Gleaners and I'(2000), 'Cleo from 5 to 7' (1962) and 'The Beaches of Agnes' (2008). Pathiraja's restrospective will showcase 'Ahas Gawwa', 'Para Dige', 'Bambaru Awith', 'Soldadu Unnehe' and 'Mathuyam Dawasa'.
JaffnaICF will honour Dr. Dharmasena Pathiraja by presenting the Life Time Achievement Award for his contribution to Sri Lankan Cinema at the awards ceremony.
Ceylon Theatres who collaborated with the festival from its inception will present an award for the Best National Short Film with a cash prize of Rupees One Hundred Thousand from this year.

Main Venues of the festival are Majestic Cineplex - Cargills Square, Kailasapathy Auditorium - Univesity of Jaffna and Hatton National Bank Auditorium, Jaffna. Fringe events will be held at British Council - Jaffna and American Corner in Jaffna.

During the festival, S. Someetharan, a documentary filmmaker from Sri Lanka/India and Dr. Etami Borjon from Croatia will conduct two masterclasses. Someetharan will conduct a masterclass on "Practical Challenges in Making Documentaries in Sri Lanka " and Dr. Borjon's masterclass will focus on "Representing the Other: Ethics and Politics in Ethnographic and Indigenous Cinema". Both topics will be useful for young film enthusiasts and students. Pre-registration for the masterclasses will be opened soon.

Government Film Unit of Sri Lanka will present a package of historical documentaries including "Nelungama" by Ralph Keen and "Kamam" by Tissa Abeysekera.

This year's participating countries include France, Germany, United Kingdom, Italy, The Netherlands, Romania, Czech Republic, Poland, Croatia, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, China, Singapore, USA, Slovakia, Switzerland, Belgium, Chile, Pakistan, Nepal, Colombia, Vietnam, Canada and Australia.
The main intention of JAFFNAICF 2017 is to celebrate independent cinema in the peninsula, recovering from the destruction caused by a 30-year-old armed conflict and war. Using art to reach out to people, this festival would create a space for communities across borders to interact with each other through cinema.

Office for National Unity and Reconciliation, Government Film Unit, Hatton National Bank, Jetwing - Jaffna, Andrew The Travel Company, Goethe Institute, British Council, and American Corner in Jaffna are the other partners of JaffnaICF 2017.
Embassy of France, Embassy of Switzerland, Embassy of Italy, and Embassy of The Netherlands, Embassy of Romania, Consulate of Slovakia, High Commission of Canada, High Commission of Australia, Polish Institute New Delhi, and Embassy of Czech Republic in New Delhi will present films.

Caption: Scenes from OTTAYAAL PAATHA (The Narrow Path). Jaffna ICF 2017 was opened with the movie OTTAYAAL PAATHA (The Narrow Path) by Satish Babusenan and Santosh Babusenan. Among other things the movie won awards and nominated to feature at international film festivals. Some of them include Silver Gateway for Second Best Film, India Gold at Jio MAMI, Mumbai, Best Actor award to K. Kaladharan at the New York Indian Film Festival, 2017. It was featured at the Singapore South Asian International Film Festival (SGAIFF).




Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More