Gochara results – parameters for predictions

  👤  3286 readers have read this article !
By 2017-11-12

By Vishwamitra

All students of Astrology know that a horoscope in respect of a newborn is cast for the purpose of making a general assessment of mental and physical qualities as well as a general forecast of the future of the person – what fortunes and misfortunes await him.
A correlative of Dasa system

Such a forecast is based on the positions of the planets in the Zodiac at the time of the birth of the person concerned. However, these planets do not remain in the same positions; they keep moving. These movements of the planets are called transits or Gochara. The study of transits of planets assumes a great significance as the exercise of making predictions relating to a particular point of time or a specific stretch of time is based on their positions in transit.

We know that the Dasa system – generally the Vimshottari Dasa system is widely followed by astrologers in India and Sri Lanka for the timing of events in the life of an individual pertaining to a particular period and under the Dasa system the transit positions are invariably taken into account for the purpose of fine-tuning the predictions.

Transit durations of different planets
All planets revolve on their axes while revolving round the Sun. According to Vedic Astrology, only nine planets – the Sun and the Moon are included – are recognized for all astrological purposes. (However, most Western astrologers acknowledge the influence of recently discovered planets, Uranus, Pluto and Neptune especially for making predictions at mundane level.)
According to Suryasiddhantha, Saturn is the most distant planet from the Earth. Jupiter, Mars, the Sun, Venus, Mercury and the Moon come next in the order of their distance from the terrestrial globe.

The Sun moves at the rate of roughly one degree in the Zodiac in 24 hours and takes 365 days and 6 hours to complete a circuit round the Zodiac.

Gochara or planetary transit means the movement of a planet from one Rashi (sign) to another. The Zodiac is made up of 12 Rashis or signs each measuring 30 degrees.

The duration Moon takes to move through each of the 12 signs is two days and 6 hours. Mars takes a minimum of 35 days and a maximum of seven months to traverse through one sign to the next. Jupiter takes about 13 months to move through one sign in its journey round the Zodiac. Venus takes a duration ranging from 24 days to 4 months; Mars a period ranging from 14 days to about 2 ½ months. Saturn takes two and half years to three years to move from one sign to the other. The twin planets Rahu and Ketu in their retrograde movement takes 1 year, 6 months, 18 days and 30 hours to journey through one sign to the other.

Difference between Natal Chart and Gochara Chart

When casting a Natal Chart based on one's time and date of birth, the usual practice is to determine the positions of planets treating the Lagna (Ascendant) as the focal point. However, in the case of making predictions on the basis of planets in transit, the transit positions of the planets are determined from the natal Moon sign or the Chandra Lagna.
(To be continued)



Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More