JO goes to CIABOC against five COPE members

  👤  2951 readers have read this article !
By 2017-11-18

By Ishara Silva

The Joint Opposition (JO) yesterday (17) lodged a complaint with the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption (CIABOC) against several members of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), who had allegedly maintained contacts with owner of Perpetual Treasuries Limited, Arjun Aloysius.

The petition filed by the JO has demanded that the personal wealth of the five COPE members along with their relatives who had maintained communication with Aloysius also be released to the public. The JO has lodged its complaint against Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera, Deputy Ministers Ajith P. Perera and Sujeewa Senasinghe and MPs Harshana Rajakaruna and Hector Appuhamy.

The JO petition was filed by MPs Shehan Semasinghe, Arundika Fernando, Dilum Amunugama, Priyankara Jayaratne and Tharaka Balasuriya.

Meanwhile, JO MP Mahindananda Aluthgamage stated that the JO would shortly be requesting the Speaker to annul the COPE membership of the five MPs concerned.

He added, the JO will also be demanding that the Speaker appoint a suitable MP with the support of two-thirds in Parliament as the Prime Minister once incumbent Premier Ranil Wickremesinghe gives evidence before the Presidential Commission of Inquiry probing the Central Bank Bonds scam on 20 November.



Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More