Colombo YMBA annual scholarship awards on 9th Dec

  👤  3329 readers have read this article !
By 2017-12-07

The Colombo Young Men's Buddhist Association (YMBA) annual Scholarship Awards ceremony is scheduled to be held on 9 December at the Colombo YMBA main hall in Borella. Accordingly, 422 undergraduates from State Universities and 75 General Certificate of Education Advanced Level (A/L) Students from identified neighbouring schools of Colombo; namely students from the Ananda Balika Vidyalaya, Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Yashodara Balika Vidyalaya, D.S. Senanayake College, Ratnavali Balika Vidyalaya, Susamayawardhana Vidyalaya, Ananda College and Nalanda College, as well as students from the Kataragama National School and the Sella Kataragama Vidyalaya will be awarded with Scholarships. Total amount to be utilized by the Colombo YMBA for 2018 Scholarships Awards amounts to Rs 8.5 million.

The Chief Guest for the Award Ceremony will be former Board of Investments and People's Bank Chairman and founder President of the Institute of Chartered Management Accountants, Sri Lanka, Prof. Lakshman R. Watawala and the Special Guest of Honour for the occasion will be Chairman and Managing Director of Phoenix Ogilvy Private Limited., Irvin Weerakkody
President of the Colombo YMBA Deshabandu Tilak de Zoysa and the Trust Funds and Skills Development Committee headed by Anura Serasingha have made special arrangements to make this annual event a success. All undergraduates mainly from the State Samurdhi beneficiary families following undergraduate studies in Medicine, Engineering, Dentistry, Management, Law, Economics, and Accounting are selected after interviewing them individually by the Scholarships Trust Fund Committee and all A/L students are recommended by the respective Principals of the Schools.

Funds for 2018 Scholarship Awards are generated from various Trust Funds established by the Colombo YMBA with primary funding coming from the late Dr. D. J. Attygalle Property Trust Fund, the Irvin Weerakkody Trust Fund, the Matilda Hewavisenthi Trust Fund, the Sir Baron Jayatilleke Trust Fund, the Sir Cyril de Zoysa Trust Fund, the L.R. Goonetilleke Trust Fund, the Welcome Break United Kingdom Tsunami Trust Fund, the Erick Amarasinghe Trust Fund, the Dr. D.P. Athukorale Trust Fund, the D.S.P.S. de Silva Trust Fund, the D.D.M. Simon Silva Trust Fund, the Shrima Jayasekara Tsunami Trust Fund, the Solomon Abeyasekara Trust Fund and the A.L.D.A. Jayawardena Trust Fund. Several donors based in Sri Lanka and overseas including members of the Board of Governors and Members of the Board of Management too have made substantial contributions for the 2018 Scholarships Awards for the benefit of these bright and deserving students.



Read More


Read More


Read More