Interesting battle at Havelock Park

  👤  2022 readers have read this article !
By 2017-12-16

By Nadeesha Chathuranga

Unbeaten Kandy SC face their toughest opponents in Havelock SC in the Dialog Rugby League encounter to be played under lights at Havelock Park today.
Kandy Sports Club has won all the games they played so far in the tournament. They beat CH & FC in a hard fought game. But they beat Police SC, Army SC and Air Force SC easily. They had to play hard against CR & FC and Navy SC, but they somehow won those games as well.

Kandy's top scorer is winger Anurudda Wilwara and he has scored a lot of tries this season and he is a very dangerous player. He is known as a special player in sevens. Now he is doing the magic in fifteen-a-side rugby as well.
Fazil Marija is also a great player and a very experienced player who can create and score tries. He has captained Sri Lanka 7s team and the fifteens team. He has also captained Kandy team. He is one of the favourites of Kandy SC.
Winger Richard Dharmapala scored a try in the last match which was held at Nittawela last week against Navy Sports Club and that gives him a lot of confidence and he will try to score many more tries. He is also playing for the Sri Lanka 7s team and 15 team.
Havelocks will depend on Dulaj Perera who is playing as a fly half. He won the game last week against CR & FC in Longddn Place. CR looked like winning it by a small margin but Perera had other ideas. He scored two penalties in the end and won the game 35 points to 30 points. It was a very important win for them.

Dushmantha Piyadarshana is playing as a prop forward and is scoring a lot of tries. That is a good sign for Havelock Sports Club and he has also played a lot for Sri Lanka. So his experience is valuable for Havelocks.
Kandy SC is surely the favourites in this game. But the match will be played in Havelocks' home so that means they have the advantage. They should take the maximum chance and register a win.

Havelock SC: Prasad Madushanka, Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Jason Melder (Capt.), S. Bandara, Sharo Fernando, Shenal Deelaka, S. Dias, Sithum Peiris, Rahul Silva, Dulaj Perera, C. Dabare, H. Perera, Nishon Perera, R. Fernando, Reeza Mubarak.
Kandy SC: Damith Dissanayake, M. Ali, G. Dissanayake, S. Anthony, Dimithri Shehan, Jason Dissanayake, T. Chathuranga, Buwaneka Udagamuwa, Sreenath Sooriyabandara, Fazil Marija, Richard Dharmapala, Gayan Weeraratne (Capt.), Dhanushka Ranjan, Anuruddha Wilwara, Thilina Wijesinghe.



Read More


Read More


Read More