Thurstan win inaugural golf tourney

  👤  2002 readers have read this article !
By 2017-12-16

Old boys of Thurstan College with seasoned players in their ranks beat newcomers Isipathana College old boys in their inaugural golf tournament played on 10 December at the Royal Colombo Golf Club course.
Though new to the game, Isipathana stretched Thurstan to the limit in a scintillating round of 18 holes. Each team fielded eight players which was played according to the Stableford points system. The three best cards were taken to decide the overall champions.
Major General Rukmal Dias graced the occasion as Chief Guest and gave away the awards in the evening.
Winners are as follows:

1. Overall champions of the Neomal Fernando challenge Trophy (Thurstan)
2. Champion golfer for the Macson Mesh Industries challenge trophy – Winner: Milinda Ratnayake (Thurstan)
3. Best par 3 holes – Winner: Ravi Liyanage (Isipathana)
4. Closest to the pin on the 9th hole – Winner: Niroshan de Silva (Thurstan)
5. Best on the hidden holes – Winner: Anura Wimalaratne (Isipathana)
6. Longest drive on the 8th hole - Winner, Lakshman Sumathipala (Thurstan)



Read More


Read More


Read More