PM sanctions election reporting guidelines

  👤  3400 readers have read this article !
By 2018-01-03

Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremesinghe sanctioned criteria cum guidelines for the electronic and print Media when reporting elections, yesterday (2) at Temple Trees.

These guidelines compiled by the Election Commission were gazetted on 4 December, 2017. Guidelines set out by the Elections Commission were according to Article 104(b)(5)(a) of the Constitution, amended by the 19th Amendment, for the electronic and print Media to ensure a free and fair election.

According to the guidelines, all telecasting, broadcasting and the print Media should be neutral and impartial in reporting election-related matters and should not discriminate against any contesting political party, independent group or candidate in allocating airtime and allotting space in the newspapers.

Ministers Sagala Ratnayake, Mano Ganesan, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Vajira Abeywardene and Rauff Hakeem were present on the occasion.



Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More