PM’s Secy appoints 5-Member Committee Immigration and Emigration officers’ woes to be dealt with

  👤  3442 readers have read this article !
By 2018-01-03

A five-member committee has been appointed by the Secretary to the Prime Minister to find immediate remedies for issues affecting Immigration and Emigration Officers. These issues have been ongoing for over for over two decades, officials said.

President of the Sri Lanka Immigration and Emigration Officers Union (SLIEOU), K.A.A.S. Kanugala said that while the Commissioner General of the Department for Registration of Persons, Viyani Gunathilaka has been appointed President of the Committee, others include a representative of the Secretary – Ministry of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs, Director General of Establishments or a representative, Director General of the Management Services (Treasury) or a representative and Additional Controller General of the Department of Immigration and Emigration, R.M.P.S.B. Rathnayaka.

Meanwhile subject Minister, S.B. Navinna has promised the SLIEOU that urgent solutions would be found in the next two weeks, Kanugala added. He further stressed that the Union had already taken trade union action such as displaying posters at the Bandaranaike International Airport, Immigration and Emigration counters. Distributing leaflets among passengers and awareness programmes are due to be launched in the near future.

"If these issues are not resolved and a speedy solution was not forthcoming, action would be taken in a gradual manner until the Union gets a reasonable solution," he noted.



Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More