Rejection of Nominations lists SC rejects 4 SLPP petitions

  👤  2131 readers have read this article !
By 2018-01-24

The Supreme Court yesterday (23) rejected the petitions filed by the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) against the rejection of its nomination lists for Local Government authorities in Panadura, Agalawatte, Mahiyanganaya and Thirippane.

The petitions were taken up before a three-Judge Bench, chaired by Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare, and included Justices K.T. Chithrasiri and Vijith K. Malalgoda, during which lawyers appearing on behalf of the SLPP presented their case to the Court over the rejection of the nomination lists.

However, the State Counsel, appearing on behalf of the Attorney General, informed the Court that the nomination lists were rejected in a lawful manner and hence it would be impossible to challenge the rejections.

After considering the arguments presented, the Supreme Court decided to reject the petitions as there wasn't sufficient legal basis to proceed.

The petitions were submitted to the Court by SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam.

The petitioner had cited eight persons as respondents, including the Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya.

The petitioner had claimed that the nomination lists for the said Local Government bodies had been rejected on flimsy grounds and hence pleaded that the Court issue an interim injunction to the Local Government bodies in question to refrain from holding the election till a verdict is announced by the Court and to issue notices to the respondents named in the case.




Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More


Read More